Updating the Bible

I saw this nice little inspirational (?) quote this morning.

 

quote

 

It reminded me of an image I saw a few weeks ago and saved for later.

 

updated bible

I was once told that the worst thing that could happen to a religion was for it to be written down. As long as religions are oral traditions prejudice can be ironed out and updated with time. As soon as it is written down though all of that prejudice, discrimination, and animosity are set in stone.

The “Spirit” maybe moving God’s people toward openness, welcome, inclusion, acceptance, and affirmation, but if you are the sort of person who would rather follow the Bible and not the Spirit, well you are stuck with all of the prejudice and animosity from 2,000 years ago.  Which reminds me of another image I recently saw.

 

road

 

The Bible isn’t doing Christianity any favors.

 

 

 

 

 

 

